Super Searchers on Wall StreetSuper Searchers on Wall Street:
Top Investment Professionals Share Their Online Research Secrets
By Amelia Kassel

Edited by Reva Basch

Referenced Sites and Sources

1. ADP http://www.adp.com

2. Alexa http://www.alexa.com

3. AltaVista http://www.altavista.com

4. American Banker http://www.americanbanker.com

5. American Libraries http://www.ala.org/alonline

6. American Library Association http://www.ala.org

7. America Online (AOL) http://www.aol.com

8. Ameritrade http://www.ameritrade.com

9. AP (Associated Press) http://www.ap.org

10. Asian Venture Capital Journal, AVCJ Holdings, Monthly http://www.asiaventure.com

11. Asset Alternatives, Inc. http://www.assetalt.com

12. Association of Certified Fraud Examiners http://www.cfenet.com

13. Association for Investment Management and Research (AIMR) http://www.aimr.org

14. Ballard Spahr http://www.ballardspahr.com

15. Bank for International Settlements (BIS) http://www.bis.org

16. Banker's Trust http://www.bankerstrust.com/dbbt

17. Barra http://www.barra.com

18. Barron's http://www.barrons.com

19. Bloomberg http://www.bloomberg.com

20. Bond Market Association http://www.bondmarket.com

21. Bridge Station http://www.bridge.com

22. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) http://www.bea.doc.gov

23. Business 2.0 http://www.business2.com

24. Business & Industry Database (Dialog File 9) http://www.dialog.com

25. Business Week http://www.businessweek.com

26. BUSLIB-L (Business Librarians)
To subscribe, send email to: listserv@listserv.boisestate.edu In body of message type: Subscribe Buslib-L Your Complete Name

27. C&RL News (College & Research Libraries) http://www.ala.org/acrl/c&rlnew2.html

28. Canada Stockwatch http://www.canada-stockwatch.com

29. Capital Institutional Services, Inc. http://www.capis.com

30. CARL UnCover uncweb.carl.org

31. Cassandra's Revenge http://www.cassandrasrevenge.com

32. CDA/Spectrum http://www.cda.com

33. CDB-Infotek (ChoicePoint) http://www.cdb.com

34. Charles Schwab http://www.schwab.com

35. CNBC http://www.cnbc.com

36. CNET News.com http://news.cnet.com/news

37. CNN Financial (CNNfn) http://cnnfn.com

38. COMDEX http://www.zdevents.com/comdex

39. Commerce Clearing House (CCH) http://business.cch.com

40. Companies House http://www.companies-house.gov.uk

41. CompanySleuth http://www.companysleuth.com

42. Compliance International http://www.complianceintl.com

43. Compustat (Standard & Poor's) http://www.compustat.com/www

44. CorporateInformation.com http://www.corporateinformation.com

45. CorpTech http://www.corptech.com

46. Court Express (RIS Legal Services) http://www.courtexpress.com

47. CourtLink http://www.courtlink.com

48. Data Downlink (.xls) http://www.xls.com

49. Datamonitor http://www.datamonitor.com

50. Datastream http://www.datastream.com

51. Dearborn Financial Publishing http://www.dearborn.com

52. Dialog http://www.dialog.com

53. Disclosure Global Access http://www.disclosure.com

54. Disclosure for Individual Investors http://www.disclosure-investor.com

55. Donaldson Lufkin & Jenrette http://www.dlj.com

56. Dow Jones Interactive http://djinteractive.com

57. DRI (Standard & Poor's) http://www.dri.mcgraw-hill.com

58. Dun & Bradstreet http://www.dnb.com

59. ECINVESTOR http://www.ecinvestor.com

60. The Economist http://www.economist.com

61. Economist Intelligence Unit's (EIU) Country Reports http://www.eiu.com

62. EContent, Online, Inc., bimonthly http://www.ecmag.net

63. Education Index, HW Wilson Company http://www.hwwilson.com

64. Edupage http://www.ee.surrey.ac.uk/Contrib/Edupage

65. ERIC (Dialog File 1) http://www.dialog.com

66. E*TRADE http://www.etrade.com

67. Euromoney, Euromoney Publications, Monthly http://www.euromoney.com

68. European Business Information Conference (EBIC) http://www.tfpl.com/bic/conferences_fr1.htm

69. Excite http://www.excite.com

70. Extel http://www.primark.com/pfid/content/extel.shtml

71. FactSet http://www.factset.com

72. FDIC (Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation) http://www.fdic.gov

73. Federal Filings, Inc. http://www.fedfil.com/ipo/index.html

74. Federal Reserve http://www.federalreserve.gov

75. Fedlink http://lcweb.loc.gov/flicc/

76. Financial Research Corporation http://www.fdinet.com/SCONSUL3.HTM

77. Financial Times http://www.ft.com

78. Find/SVP http://www.findsvp.com

79. First Call http://www1.firstcall.com

80. FISonline http://www.fisonline.com

81. Flow of Cash Funds http://www.bog.frb.fed.us/releases/Z1

82. Forrester Research http://www.forrester.com

83. Fortune http://www.fortune.com

84. FreeEDGAR http://www.freeedgar.com

85. Galante's Venture Capital & Private Equity Directory http://www.assetalt.com/products/dir/index.htm

86. Gale Group F&S Index (Dialog File 18) http://www.dialog.com

87. Gale Group Trade & Industry Database (Dialog File 148) http://www.dialog .com

88. Global Research (St. Louis) http://www.stlglobalre.com

89. Global Securities Information, Inc. http://www.gsionline.com

90. The Globe and Mail http://www.globeandmail.ca

91. Goldman Sachs http://www.gs.com

92. Google http://www.google.com

93. Harvard University Business School Working Papers http://library.hbs.edu/workpaplink.htm

94. Haver Analytics http://www.haver.com

95. Hoover's http://www.hoovers.com

96. HotBot http://www.hotbot.com

97. Ibbotson EnCorr http://www.ibbotson.com/Products/software/analysis/default.asp

98. I/B/E/S http://www.ibes.com

99. ICI (Investment Company Institute) http://www.ici.org

100. IDC (Interactive Data Corp.) http://www.intdata.com

101. Industry Standard, The Industry Standard, Weekly http://www.thestandard.net

102. Infobeat http://www.infobeat.com

103. Infomart http://www.infomart.com

104. Information America http://www.infoam.com

105. Information Outlook, Special Libraries Association, Monthly http://www.sla.org

106. Information Today, Information Today, Inc., Monthly http://www.infotoday.com/it/itnew.htm

107. Informed Librarian, Infosources Publishing, Monthly http://www.infosourcespub.com

108. Infoseek http://www.infoseek.com

109. Inside Market Data http://www.watersinfo.com

110. InSync DiBiasio & Edgington7857 Heritage Drive, Suite 320, Annandale, Virginia 22003 703-642-9200

111. Intelliscope http://www.intelliscope.com

112. International Data Corporation (IDC) http://www.idc.com

113. International Directory of Venture Capital Funds, Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers http://www.fitzroydearborn.com/dirvcf.htm

114. International Monetary Fund http://www.imf.org/external

115. Internet Lawyer, Monthly http://www.internetlawyer.com

116. Internet Newsletter: Legal and Business Aspects, Leader Publications, Monthly http://www.ljx.com/newsletters

117. InternetWeek, CMP Media Inc., Weekly http://www.internetwk.com

118. Internet Wire http://www.internetwire.com

119. Internet World, Penton Media Inc., 42x/year http://www.iw.com

120. Internet World (Conference), Penton Media, Inc. http://www.penton.com/markets/it/index.html

121. Investext http://www.investext.com

122. InvestWorks http://www.barra.com/InvData/PStyleAnalysis.asp

123. ISI (Institute for Scientific Information) Citation Indexes http://www.isinet.com

124. iVillage MoneyLife http://www.ivillagemoneylife.com

125. Journal of Academic Librarianship http://www.suffolk.edu/admin/sawlib/jal/contents.html

126. KnowX http://www.knowx.com

127. Lexis-Nexis http://www.lexis-nexis.com

128. Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe http://www.cispubs.com/market/universe/univ1.htm

129. Library Journal http://www.ljdigital.com

130. Library Literature, HW Wilson Company http://www.hwwilson.com

131. Library Quarterly http://www.journals.uchicago.edu/LQ/home.html

132. Library Trends http://www.lis.uiuc.edu/puboff/catalog/trends

133. Lipper Analytical Services http://www.lipperweb.com

134. LIVEDGAR http://www.gsionline.com

135. Lycos http://www.lycos.com

136. Market Data Professionals, Inc. http://www.market-data.com

137. Market Guide http://www.marketguide.com/MGI

138. Market Insight (Standard & Poor's) http://www.compustat.com/www/products/mktinst3.htm

139. MarketSpan (CaseStream) http://www.casestream.com

140. Martindale-Hubbell http://www.martindale.com

141. McDermott, Will & Emery http://www.mwe.com

142. Media Central http://www.mediacentral.com

143. Media General http://www.mediageneral.com

144. Mergerstat http://www.mergerstat.com

145. Merrill Lynch http://www.merrilllynch.com or http://www.ml.com

146. Moody's http://www.moodys.com

147. Morgan Lewis http://www.mlb.com

148. Morgan Stanley Dean Witter http://www.ms.com

149. Morningstar http://www.morningstar.com

150. Motley Fool http://www.fool.com

151. MSNBC http://www.msnbc.com/news

152. Muller Data http://www.muller.com

153. Multex http://www.multex.com

154. Mutual Fund Café http://www.mfcafe.com/index.html

155. NASD (National Association of Securities Dealers) http://www.nasd.com

156. National Online Meeting, Information Today Inc. http://www.infotoday.com

157. National Securities Clearing Corporation (NSCC) http://www.nscc.com

158. Nelson's Directory of Investment Managers http://www.nelnet.com/catalog/dim.htm

159. New York Institute of Finance http://www.nyif.com/bookcatalog

160. New York Law Journal http://www.nylj.com

161. New York State Banking Department http://www.banking.state.ny.us

162. New York Stock Exchange http://www.nyse.com

163. New York Times http://www.nytimes.com

164. Newscan http://www.newscan.com

165. NewsEdge http://www.newsedge.com

166. Nikkei http://www.nni.nikkei.co.jp

167. Northern Light http://www.northernlight.com or http://www.nlsearch.com

168. Northfield http://www.northinfo.com

169. OCLC FirstSearch http://www.oclc.org/oclc/menu/eco.htm

170. OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) http://www.oecd.org

171. OneSource http://www.onesource.com

172. Online, Online Inc., Bimonthly http://www.onlineinc.com

173. Pacer (Public Access to Court Electronics Records) http://pacer.psc.uscourts.gov

174. The Philadelphia Stock Exchange http://www.phlx.com/index.stm

175. Pratt's Guide to Venture Capital Sources 1999 (23rd Edition). Stanley E. Pratt, Editor. Venture Economics, ISBN: 0914470973

176. Primark Global Information Services http://www.primark.com

177. The Private Equity Analyst's Newsletter, Asset Alternatives, Inc, Monthly http://assetalt.com/products/news/pea.htm

178. PROMT (Dialog File 16) http://www.dialog.com

179. ProQuest http://www.umi.com/proquest or http://www.proquest.com

180. PSN (Plan Sponsor Network) http://www.informa.com/Informa/Pages/Display.ASP?file_name=product_ info_32.XML

181. Quicklaw http://www.qlsys.ca

182. Quote.com http://www.quote.com/index.html

183. Raging Bull http://www.ragingbull.com

184. Red Herring, Red Herring Communications, San Francisco, CA, Monthly http://www.herring.com

185. Reference and User Services Quarterly http://www.ala.org/rusa/rusq

186. Reference Services Review (RSR) http://olive.harvard.edu:81/ejournals

187. Research Bank Web (Investext) http://www.investext.com

188. Reuters http://www.reuters.com

189. Russell Performance Universe http://russell.com

190. Salomon Yield Book http://www.smithbarney.com/capmark/instit/gpb_rsrchsvc.htm

191. SAS http://www.sas.com

192. Scout Report http://scout.cs.wisc.edu/report/sr/current/index.html

193. Search Engine Watch and Search Engine Report. Danny Sullivan, Editor, Monthly http://searchenginewatch.com

194. Searcher Magazine, Information Today, Inc., 10x/year http://www.infotoday.com/searcher

195. Seattle Times http://www.seattletimes.com

196. SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) http://www.sec.gov

197. Secrets of the Super Net Searchers. Reva Basch, CyberAge Books, Information Today, Inc., 1996 http://www.infotoday.com/catalog/books.htm

198. Securities Class Action Clearing Center http://securities.stanford.edu/index.html

199. Securities Data Corp. (SDC), now Thomson Financial Securities Data http://www.tfsd.com

200. Securities Industry Association http://www.sia.com

201. SEDAR http://www.sedar.com

202. SiebertNet http://www.siebertnet.com

203. Silicon Investor http://www.siliconinvestor.com

204. SmartMoney http://www.smartmoney.com

205. SNL Securities http://www.snlsecurities.com

206. Special Libraries Association (SLA) http://www.sla.org

207. Standard & Poor's http://www.standardpoor.com or http://www.standardandpoors.com

208. Statistical Abstract of the United States http://www.census.gov/prod/3/98pubs/98statab/cc98stab.htm

209. Stock Point http://www.stockpoint.com

210. Stocksite, now Silicon Investor http://www.siliconinvestor.com

211. Sybase http://www.sybase.com

212. Teikoku http://www.teikoku.com

213. Telerate Plus http://www.telerate.com

214. TheStreet.com http://www.thestreet.com

215. Thomson Financial http://www.tfp.com

216. Trading Technology Week http://www.watersinfo.com

217. United Nations http://www.un.org

218. United States Bureau of the Census http://www.census.gov

219. University of Cincinnati College of Law Center for Corporate Law http://taft.law.uc.edu/CCL

220. UPI (United Press International) http://www.upi.com

221. Upside, Upside Media Inc., Monthly http://www.upside.com

222. U.S. Bancorp Piper Jaffray http://www.piperjaffray.com

223. Value Line http://www.valueline.com

224. Venture One http://www.ventureone.com

225. Vision (Innovative Systems Techniques Insyte) http://www.insytenet.com

226. The Wall Street Journal http://www.wsj.com

227. The Wall Street Journal Guide to Understanding Money and Investments.Kenneth M. Morris, Virginia B. Morris, Alan M. Siegel, August 1999 Fireside; ISBN: 0684869020

228. Wall Street Research Network (WSRN) http://www.wsrn.com

229. Waterhouse Securities Inc. http://www.waterhouse.com

230. Waters Information Services http://www.watersinfo.com

231. WebCrawler http://www.webcrawler.com

232. Westlaw http://www.westlaw.com

233. Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania http://www.wharton.upenn.edu

234. White House Economic Statistics Briefing Room http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/esbr.html

235. Wilshire http://www.wilshire.com

236. Women's Institute for Financial Education (WIFE) http://www.wife.com

237. Women's Wire http://www.womenswire.com

238. World Bank http://www.worldbank.org

239. Worldscope http://www.primark.com/pfid/content/worldscope.shtml

240. Yahoo! http://www.yahoo.com

241. Yahoo! Finance http://finance.yahoo.com or http://quote.yahoo.com

242. Zacks Investment Research http://www.zacks.com
 


Super Searchers on Wall StreetSuper Searchers on Wall Street:
Top Investment Professionals Share Their Online Research Secrets
By Amelia Kassel
Edited by Reva Basch
Order this book

Super Searchers Web Page Information Today Inc. Home