The International Internet Conference and Exhibition for Librarians & Information Managers

29-31 March 1999 Olympia 2 London, UK


Speaker Directory



Angela Abell
Principal Consultant
TFPL Ltd.
17-18 Britton Street
London EC1M 5NQ
UK
Phone: +44 171 251 5522
Fax: +44 171 251 8318
Angela.Abell@tfpl.com

Stephen Abram 
IHS Micromedia Limited
20 Victoria Street
Toronto ON M5C 2N8
Canada 
Phone: 416-362-5211 Ext 2254
sabram@micromedia.on.ca

John Akeroyd
South Bank University
Learning and Information Services
103 Borough Rd
London SE1 OAA
England
Phone: +44 (0)171 815 6601
Fax: +44(0)171 815 6699
john.akeroyd@sbu.ac.uk

Chris J. Armstrong
Centre for Information Quality Management (CIQM)
Information Automation Limited
Penbryn
Bronant
Aberystwyth SY23 4TJ
Wales
Phone: +44 1974 251302
Fax: +44 1974 251441
lisqual@cix.compulink.co.uk

Steve Arnold
President 
Arnold IT 
Postal Box 320 
Harrods Creek, Kentucky 40027 
USA
Phone: 502-228-1966 
Fax: 502-228-0548 
ait@arnoldit.com

David Ball 
Head of Library and Information Services 
Bournemouth University 
Fern Barrow 
Poole 
Dorset BH12 5BB 
England 
Phone:  +44 (0) 1202 595044
Fax:  +44 (0) 1202 595475
dball@bournemouth.ac.uk
 

Chris Batt
Director of Leisure Services
London Borough of Croydon
Croydon Clocktower
Katharine Street
Croydon CR9 1ET 
UK
Phone: +44 (0)181 253 1000
Fax: +44 (0)181 253 1004
lbcbatt@croydon.gov.uk

Graham L. Beastall
Chairman
Soutron Limited
Charlotte House
Wyvern Business Park
Derby DE21 6BF 
UK
Direct Dial: 01332 821805
Mobile: 07971 488801
Switchboard: 01332 821800
graham@soutron.com

D. Scott Brandt
Assistant Professor and Technology Training Librarian
Purdue University Libraries
1530 Stewart Center, Rm. 363
W. Lafayette, IN 47907-1530
USA
Phone: 765-494-2857
Fax: 765-494-0156
techman@purdue.edu

Andy Breeding
Manager, Desktop Services
Information & Research Services 
Compaq Computer Corporation
Littleton, MA  01460
USA
Phone: 978-506-6873
Fax: 978-506-6891
andy.breeding@compaq.com

Monica Brinkley
EQUINOX Project
Library, Dublin City University
Dublin 9
Ireland
Phone: +353-61-368729 
            + 353-1-7045212
Fax: +353-1-7045010
mbrinkley@tinet.ie

Tessa Bruce
Electronic Information Services Manager
The British Council 
Bridgewater House
58 Whitworth Street
Manchester M1 6BB
England
Phone: +44 161 957 7136
Fax: +44 161 957 7168 
tessa.bruce@britcoun.org

Sam Coghlan
CEO 
Oxford County Library
130 Oxford Street
Ingersoll, Ontario N5C 2V5
Canada
Phone: 519-421-1700
Fax: 519-539-9888
sam@web.ocl.net

Linda Craney
Director
Prometheus
Amen Lodge
Warwick Lane
London EC4M 7BY
England
Phone: +44 171 704 8700
Fax: +44 171 919 6380
info@prometheus.co.uk

Bernadette Daly
Information Officer 
UKOLN: UK Office for Library & Information Networking
c/o Library, University of Bath
Bath BA2 7AY
England
Phone: +44 (0) 1225 323 343 
Fax: +44 (0) 1225 826838
b.m.daly@ukoln.ac.uk

Joan Day 
Head of Department of Information and Library Management
University of Northumbria at Newcastle
Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 8ST 
UK
Phone: +44 191 227 4917
Fax: +44 191 227 3671
joan.day@unn.ac.uk

Arnoud de Kemp
Director 
Sales/Marketing & Corporate Development
Springer-Verlag GmbH & Co. KG
Tiergartenstrae 17
69121 Heidelberg
Germany
Phone: +49-(0) 6221-487-396
Fax: +49-(0) 6221-487-288
deKemp@springer.de

Jean E. DeMatteo
McQueen Consulting
4404 Keswick Road
Baltimore, MD 21210
USA
Phone: 410-243-2755
Fax: 410-243-9419
jean@mcq.com

Heather de Pastino
Director, Administration, Marketing & Sales
Access Innovations, Inc.
131 Adams Street N.E.
Albuquerque, NM 87108
USA
Phone: 406-542-3208
Fax: 406-542-3208
HDepastino@aol.com

Ulla de Stricker
President
de Stricker & Associates
3934 Selkirk Place
Mississaugua, Ontario L5L 3L5
Canada
Phone: 905-820-4525
Fax: 905-820-7805
uds@xe.net

Emma Delaney
SmithKline Beecham Pharmaceuticals
New Fontiers Science Park (North)
Third Avenue
Harlow
Essex CM19 5AW
England
Phone: +44 1279 627316
Fax: +44 1279 627331
emma_l_delaney@sbphrd.com

Sean Dreilinger
SavvySearch Limited
77 Russell Road
Wellesley, MA 02482
USA
Phone: 781-237-1033
Fax: 781-237-1021
sean@durak.org

Norine Duncan
Curator
Art Slide Library
Box 1855
Brown University
Providence, RI 02912
USA
Phone: 401-863-3082
Norine_Duncan@Brown.edu

Gail Dykstra
Director, Government and Publisher Relations
IHS Micromedia Limited
20 Victoria Street
Toronto, Ontario M5C 2N8
Canada
Phone: ---416-369-4398800-387-2689, ext.4398
Fax: 416-362-6161
gdykstra@micromedia.on.ca

Jane I. Dysart
Dysart & Jones Associates
47 Rose Park Drive
Toronto, Ontario  M4T 1R2
Canada
Phone: 416-484-6129
Fax: 416-484-7063
dysart@inforamp.net

Mary McCarty Earley
National Director of Secondary Research
Edelman Public Relations
1420 K St., NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 20005
USA
Phone: 202-326-1733
Fax: 202-371-2858
mary_mccarty_earley@dc.edelman.com
mmccarty@cais.com

Catherine Edwards
Research Associate
Department of Information & Library Management
University of Northumbria at Newcastle
Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8ST
England
Phone: 0191 227 3222
Fax: 0191 227 3671
catherine.edwards@unn.ac.uk

Anne V. Ellis
Director, Librarian Relations
West Online
610 Opperman Drive
Mail Code D5-B
Eagan, MN 55123
USA
Phone: 651-687-5019
Fax: 651-687-5614
anne.ellis@westgroup.com

Simon Evans
UK Intranet Services Manager
Glaxo Wellcome Research & Development
Park Road
Ware
Herts SG12 0DP 
England
Phone:  01920 884335
Fax: 01920 882233
ste2006@glaxowellcome.co.uk

Bill Forster
University of Hertfordshire Press
LRC, College Lane, HATFIELD
Hertfordshire AL10 9AD
UK
Phone: +44 1707 284666
W.A.Forster@herts.ac.uk

Robert F. Gardner
Corporate Librarian
U.S. Postal Service
475 LEnfant Plaza, SW
Washington, DC 20260-1540
USA
Phone: 202-268-2900
Fax: 202-268-6436
rgardne2@email.usps.gov

David Gilroy
Client Services Director 
Sift plc
The Mill House
Redcliff Backs
Bristol, BS1 6LY
England
Phone: 0117 915 9601
Fax: 0117 915 9630
dgilroy@sift.co.uk

Melanie Goody
Research Manager for Corporate Finance
KPMG
1-2 Dorset Rise
Blackfriars
London EC4Y 8AE
England
Phone: +44 171 311 5346
Fax: +44 171 311 5884
Melanie.Goody@kpmg.co.uk

William Hann
Managing Editor
Free Pint
Phone: +44 1784 455435
Fax: +44 1784 455436
william@freepint.co.uk

Cynthia Hill
Manager, SunLibrary
Sun Microsystems, Inc.
2550 Garcia Avenue, MTV06-20
Mountain View, CA  94043-1100
USA
Phone: 650-336-1091
Fax: 650-336-6529

Margie Hlava
President 
Access Innovations, Inc.
P.O. Box 8640
Albuquerque, NM 87198-8640
USA
Phone: 505-265-3591
Fax: 505-256-1080
mhlava@accessinn.com

Eva Holtsmark 
Information Specialist 
O-Tech International, Ltd. 
6862 Elm Street  Suite 350 
McLean, VA  22101 
USA
Phone: 703-893-0552 
Fax: 703-893-3696 
evah@o-tech.com

Alan Howarth, CBE MP
Minister for the Arts 
Department for Culture, Media & Sport
2-4 Cockspur Street
London SW1Y 5DH
England
Phone: +44 171 211 6421
Fax: +44 171 211 6309

Richard P. Hulser
Digital Library Consultant, Libraries and Museum
IBM Corporation
702 Quinnipiac Avenue, Unit B
New Haven, CT  06513
USA
Phone: 203-466-3155 
Fax: 203-466-3155 

Terence K. Huwe
Director of Library and Information Resources
Institute of Industrial Relations
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720
USA
Phone: 510-643-7061
Fax: 510-642-6432
thuwe@library.berkeley.edu

Ariane Iljon
Head of Unit
DGXIII/E-4 Telematics for Libraries
Rue Robert Stumper 10
Gasprich
Luxembourg
Phone: +32 2 299 93 99
ariane.iljon@lux.dg13.cec.be
 

 

Lori Jargo
Library Webmaster
Brown University
Sciences Library
Box I
Providence, RI 02912
USA
Phone: (401) 863-3333
Fax: (401) 863-2753
Lori_Jargo@Brown.Edu

David Kay
Strategic Development Director
Fretwell-Downing Informatics Ltd
861 Ecclesall Road
Sheffield S11 7AE
UK
Phone: 0114 281 6000
Fax: 0114 281 6001
dkay@fdgroup.co.uk

Brian Kelly
UK Web Focus
UKOLN, University of Bath
BATH, BA2 7AY
England
Phone: 01225 323943 
Fax: 01225 826838 
b.kelly@ukoln.ac.uk

Peter Kirby
Senior Consultant
TFPL Ltd.
17-18 Britton Street
London EC1M 5NQ
UK
Phone: +44 171 251 5522
Fax: +44 171 251 8318
Peter.Kirby@TFPL.com

Sue LaChance 
Infoseek
1399 Moffett Park Drive
Sunnyvale, CA 94087
USA
Phone: 408-543-6757
Fax: 408-734-9359
lachance@infoseek.com

Chris Locke
Group Internet Manager
Virgin Net
England
Phone:  0171 479 4400 or 0850 037 427
chris@london.virgin.net

Ray E. Lonsdale
Department of Information and Library Studies
University of Wales, Aberystwyth
Old College
Kings Street
Aberystwyth
Ceredigion SY23 2AX
Wales 
Phone: +44 1970 622173
rel@aber.ac.uk

Jerry W. Mansfield
Head, Public Services
U.S. Postal Service Corporate Library
475 LEnfant Plaza, SW
Washington, DC 20260-1540
USA
Phone: 202-268-2904
Fax: 202-268-6436
jmansfi1@email.usps.gov

Mary F. McCall
Director - Europe, Middle East, Africa
Dow Jones Interactive Publishing
10 Fleet Place
London EC4M 7QN
England
Phone: +44 171 832 9575
Fax: +44 171 832 9861
mary.mccall@dowjones.com

Howard McQueen
McQueen Consulting
4404 Keswick Road
Baltimore, MD 21210
USA
Phone: 410-243-2755
Fax: 410-243-9419
howard@mcq.com

Dottie Moon
Group Leader - Competitive Intelligence
United Technologies Research Center
411 Silver Lane - MS 129-54
East Hartford, CT 06108
USA
Phone:  860-610-2177
Fax: 860-610-1629
MoonMG@utrc.utc.com

Paul Nieuwenhuysen
2B112, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Pleinlaan 2, B-1050 Brussels
Belgium
Phone: (0)2 - 629 2436
Fax: (0)2 - 629 2693 or 629 2282

Terry Noreault
Vice President, Office of Research
OCLC
6565 Frantz Rd. 
Dublin OH 43015 
USA
Phone: 614-764-4392
Fax: 614-718-7590
noreault@oclc.org

Greg R. Notess
Reference Librarian 
Montana State University-Bozeman Library 
PO Box 173320    Bozeman, MT 59717-3320 
USA 
Phone: 406-994-6563 
Fax: 406-994-2851
greg@notess.com

Nigel Oxbrow
Managing Director
TFPL Ltd.
17-18 Britton Street
London EC1M 5NQ
UK
Phone: +44 171 251 5522
Fax: +44 171 251 8318
nigel.oxbrow@tfpl.com

David Palmer
Assistant Librarian
University of East Anglia 
Norwich, NR2 3LD
England
Phone: 01603 593523
Fax: 01603 592409
David.Palmer@uea.ac.uk

John Paschoud
Information Systems Engineer
British Library of Political & Economic Science
London School of Economics
10 Portugal Street
London  WC2A 2HD
England
Phone: +44 (0)171 955 6129
j.paschoud@lse.ac.uk

Beth Phillips
WebLibrary Editorial Webmaster
Compaq Computer Corp.
LKG 1-2/J12
550 King Street
Littleton, MA 01460
USA
Phone: 978-506-6422
Beth.Phillips@digital.com

David Raitt
The Netherlands
Phone: +31 71 6563017
Fax: +31 71 5152712
draitt@estec.esa.nl

Rosemary Russell
MODELS Project Manager & AGORA Communications Coordinator
UKOLN (UK Office for Library & Information Networking)
ULCC, 20 Guilford Street
London WC1N 1DZ
England
Phone: +44 (0) 171 692 1302
Fax: +44 (0) 171 692 1234
r.russell@ukoln.ac.uk

Peter Scott
Manager, Small Systems
University of Saskatchewan Libraries
3 Campus Drive
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan   S7N 5A4
Canada
Phone: 306-966-5920 
Fax: 306-966-6040
scottp@moondog.usask.ca

Zsolt Silberer
Sr. Manager, Web Initiatives
Institute for Scientific Information
3501 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA  19010 
USA
Phone: +1 215-386-0100 x. 1430
Fax: +1 215-387-4706
ZSilberer@isi-mail.isinet.com

Iain Simpson
KPMG
1-2 Dorset Rise
Blackfriars
London EC4Y 8AE
England
Iain.Simpson@kpmg.co.uk

Gail Stahl
Director, Atlanta Information Services
The Boston Consulting Group
600 Peachtree Street, NE, Suite 3800
Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone: 404-877-5200
Fax: 404-877-5201
stahl.gail@bcg.com

Susan M. Stearns
Director of Enterprise Marketing
Northern Light Technology LLC
222 Third Street
Suite 1320
Cambridge, MA  02142
USA
Phone: 617-577-2194 
Fax: 617-621-3459
sstearns@northernlight.com

David Seuss
Northern Light Technology LLC
222 Third Street
Suite 1320
Cambridge, MA  02142
USA
Phone: (617) 577-2112
Fax: (617) 621-3459
dseuss@northernlight.com

Danny Sullivan
Editor, Search Engine Watch
Furlong House
High Street
Shrewton, Wiltshire SP3 4DD
England
Phone: 01980-621-413
Fax: 01980-621-416
danny@calafia.com

CK Tan 
President
Avita Technologies
2150 Winston Park Dr.
Unit 25
Oakville, ON L6H 5V1
Canada
Phone: 905-829-5657 ; 905-829-0017 
cktan@avita.com

Roy Tennant
Digital Library Project Manager
University of California, Berkeley
Library Systems Office
Berkeley, CA 94720
USAPhone: 510-643-9494
Fax: 510-642-4759
rtennant@library.berkeley.edu

Ian Upton
Technical Development Officer
BUILDER
Main Library
University of Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham B15 2TT
England
Phone: 0121 414 6380
i.p.upton@bham.ac.uk

Pieter A. van Brakel
Department of Information Studies
Rand Afrikaans University
PO Box 524
Auckland Park
2006 Johannesburg
South Africa
Phone: +27 11 489-2899
Fax:  +27 11 489-2822
pavb@LW.rau.ac.za

Jay Ven Eman
CEO
Access Innovations Inc.
P.O. Box 8640
Albuquerque, NM 87198-8640
USA
Phone:  505-265-3591
Fax: 505-256-1080
j_ven_eman@accessinn.com

Margaret Walshe
CEO
Kitchener Public Library
85 Queen St. North
Kitchener, Ontario N2H 2H1
Canada
Phone: 519-743-0271
Fax: 519-743-1261
pwalshe@golden.net

Sheila Webber
Lecturer
Department of Information Science
University of Strathclyde, 
Livingstone
Tower, Glasgow G1 1XH, UK
Phone: + 44 (0)141 548 3092
Fax: +44 (0)141 553 1393, 
sheila@dis.strath.ac.uk

Martin White
Principal Consultant
TFPL Ltd.
17-18 Britton Street
London EC1M 5NQ
UK
Phone: +44 171 251 5522
Fax: +44 171 251 8318
MartinWhite@tfpl.com

Linda G. Will
Librarian
Greenberg Traurig
1221 Brickell Ave.
Miami, FL 33131 
USA
Phone: 305-579-0834
Fax: 305-579-0717
willl@gtlaw.com

Astrid Wissenburg 
Senior Project Manager MALIBU 
Kings College London, Library 
Strand, London WC2R 2LS
England
Phone:0171-8735087
astrid.wissenburg@kcl.ac.uk

Lord Wodehouse
Advanced Technology & Informatics
Glaxo Wellcome Medicines Research Centre
Phone: +44 (0)1438 76 3222 
mailto:w0400@ggr.co.uk or
or   +44 (0)1628 482 634 or
Fax: +44 (0)1438 76 3082 
lordjohn@lordjohn.demon.co.uk or
lordjohn@dial.pipex.com

Susi Woodhouse
EARL Development Manager
47 Berriedale Avenue
Hove
East Sussex BN3 4JG
England
Phone: +44 (0) 1273-721083
Fax: +44 (0) 1273-779129
susi@earl.org.uk

Peter M. Wynne
HYLIFE Project Manager
CERLIM
Department of Information and Communications
Geoffrey Manton Building
Manchester Metropolitan University
Rosamond Street West
Off Oxford Road
Manchester M15 6LL
England
Phone: 0161 247 6142
Fax: 0161 247 6351
p.wynne@mmu.ac.uk

Robin Yeates
Senior Researcher/Centre Manager
LITC (Library Information Technology Centre)
South Bank University
103 Borough Rd, London SE1 0AA
UK
Phone: +44(0)171 815 7871
+44(0)171 815 7872 (switchboard)
Fax: +44(0)171 815 7050
yeatesr@sbu.ac.uk

Julie Zielstra
Corporate Information Officer
Brent Council
Town Hall
Forty Lane
Wembley HA9 9EZ
England
Phone: +44 181 937 1435
Fax: +44 181 937 1444
julie.zielstra@brent.gov.uk
 


Internet Librarian & Libtech International '99 Home
*Information Today, Inc. Home Page